Thursday, March 21, 2019

CRC Calendar 2018/2019

CRC Testing Friday, October 5, 2018
CRC Round 1 Friday, October 12, 2018
CRC Round 2 Friday, November 2, 2018
CRC Round 3

Round 3:  Friday, December 7, 2018

CRC Round 4

Round 4:  Friday, January 11, 2019

CRC Round 5

Round 5:  Friday, February 1, 2019

CRC Round 6

Round 6:  Friday, March 8, 2019

CRC Round 7

Round 7:  Friday, April 26, 2019

CRC Spare  Friday, May 3, 2019

Strict Standards: Declaration of JCacheControllerView::get() should be compatible with JCacheController::get($id, $group = NULL) in /home/content/27/6953627/html/libraries/loader.php on line 354

Curtain comes down on final 2000cc Round

User Rating:  / 0
2.JPG The curtains came down on a spectacular finale to the Batelco 2000CC Challenge debut season this weekend as Bahraini champion Shaikh Salman bin Isa bin Ibrahim Al Khalifa was crowned the season winner.
Having held on tightly to the lead throughout the season, Shaikh Salman followed through in a show-stopping performance which left him winning both races of the final round and eliminating all competition from top rival Mustafa Al Khan.
Al Khan, Shaikh Salman’s arch enemy throughout the debut season, managed to make up for the two rounds he missed out on at the start of the season and finished in second position overall. At the end of the season, the final two victories completed Shaikh Salman’s 14 wins whilst Al Khan clinched only two this season.
Winners were awarded 500 dinars for first place in each race, whilst winner of the fastest lap time, who was Mustafa Al Khan, picked up a 500 dinar prize.
A successful finish to a successful Batelco season
Shaikh Salman continued to push through the Batelco-sponsored season with great determination which saw first place winners pick up a 3,000 dinar prize. Overall second place winner went home with 2,000 dinars whilst third place took 1,000 dinars.
Having held on tightly to the lead since the very first round, Shaikh Salman stayed focused and drove to two more wins in the final round. He highlighted that he was delighted with the victory he had made and added that the competition both in the media and on the track had a positive impact on his performance, making him work harder for his victories. He added that he was determined to come back again next season to defend his title and face more competition.
Shaikh Salman stood in first place on the starting grid after coming out trumps in the qualifiers and held onto the lead regardless of the competition from Al Khan. In the meanwhile, Ali Al Kobaisi successfully landed third place after intense battle on the track as Stephen Kellogg made a quick recovery after starting from the scrutineering garage and settled for fifth. Shaikh Salman made the fastest lap time of the first race in 1:22.215 minutes.
The results at the end of the first race: 1. Shaikh Salman bin Isa bin Ibrahim Al Khalifa; 2. Mustafa Al Khan; 3. Ali Al Kobaisi; 4. Rashid Al Jowder; 5. Stephen Kellogg; 6. Karl Tschersich; 7. Mike Spahn; 8. Osama Al Boflasa; 9. Faisal Raffii; 10. Ahmed Kozbar.
6.jpgAl Khan steals the faster lap time
There was a slight turn of events in the second race as Mustafa Al Khan made a dash for it and finished with the faster lap time of 1:21.720 minutes as the top five drivers started in reverse on the starting grid. Mohammed Saleh joined in the round and succeeded in overtaking both Rashid Al Jowder and Stephen Kellogg swiping fourth place from the two.
Shaikh Salman maintained a five-second lead nonetheless and left Al Khan behind throughout the 10-lap race, putting him in first at the end of the second race.
The results at the end of the second race: 1. Shaikh Salman bin Isa bin Ibrahim Al Khalifa; 2. Mustafa Al Khan; 3. Ali Al Kobaisi; 4. Mohammed Saleh; 5. Stephen Kellogg; 6. Rashid Al Jowder; 7. Karl Tschersich; 8. Mike Spahn; 9. Ahmed Kozbar; 10. Osama Al Boflasa; 11. Faisal Raffii.
Al Khan: Watch out next season
Al Khan’s performance showed his determination to make it throughout the season. Having faced technical problems with his car he pummelled through and made a quick comeback three rounds in. The pay off saw the young-gun steal second place from Mike Spahn. On his success, Al Khan said that he looked forward to participating next year and was excited about going head-to-head against Shaikh Salman, following his fastest lap time victory.
Abdulla bin Isa congratulates winners
Shaikh Abdulla bin Isa Al Khalifa, president of the Bahrain Motor Federation, congratulated the drivers on a superb opening season to the Batelco 2000CC Challenge and the federation’s supporting partner Bahrain International Circuit who played host to this national sporting event. He extended his thanks to Batelco, the championship sponsor, adding that their support was a key player to the challenge’s success. He continued to congratulate the Circuit Racing Club for a superbly organized series and looked forward to an even more exciting championship next season.
Salman bin Isa: Championship encouraging
Shaikh Salman bin Isa Al KHalifa, Chief Operating Officer at Bahrain International Circuit, stressed that the level of competition seen throughout the championship revealed just how successful the season had been. He added that the concept behind such a championship was ingenious as it provided a platform for aspiring drivers to get behind the steering wheel in a low-budget and affordable series. He also added that the monetary prizes awarded, courtesy of Batelco, were a key incentive for drivers to succeed. He congratulated the Bahrain Motor Federation and Circuit Racing Club on their success and looked forward to another thrilling season.
Al Hilli: Positive outlook to next season
President of the Circuit Racing Club, Mazen Al Hilli, highlighted that the feedback the club had received from the drivers was something that bodes well for the future of the next season. He added that the last round was supposed to see over 14 drivers participating including Isa Al Kooheji the young-gun was unable to participate as he was required in a regional championship. Female driver Carina Ghuloom was also unable to attend due to her father, Abdul Rahman Ghuloom’s participation in one of the regiona rally championships. He added this season’s Lumina CSV third place winner Shaikh Hamad bin Isa bin Ibrahim Al Khalifa (Shaikh Salman’s brother) was also listed as a driver in the final round but could not participate as his car was not ready. Al Hilli also added that the increased awareness from Bahraini drivers about this championship would not have been possible without title sponsor Batelco who offered monetary prizes to the winning drivers in each and every round. He thanked the local media for their great interest in the championship and the Public Relations department at Bahrain International Circuit for their great interest in the series and looked forward to a positive second season.