Wednesday, February 20, 2019

CRC Calendar 2018/2019

CRC Testing Friday, October 5, 2018
CRC Round 1 Friday, October 12, 2018
CRC Round 2 Friday, November 2, 2018
CRC Round 3

Round 3:  Friday, December 7, 2018

CRC Round 4

Round 4:  Friday, January 11, 2019

CRC Round 5

Round 5:  Friday, February 1, 2019

CRC Round 6

Round 6:  Friday, March 8, 2019

CRC Round 7

Round 7:  Friday, April 26, 2019

CRC Spare  Friday, May 3, 2019

Strict Standards: Declaration of JCacheControllerView::get() should be compatible with JCacheController::get($id, $group = NULL) in /home/content/27/6953627/html/libraries/loader.php on line 354


User Rating:  / 0

Bahrain International Circuit, the ‘Home of Motorsport in the Middle East’, will this morning conduct ‘scrutineering’ on the cars that will be taking part in the third season of the Batelco 2,000cc Challenge.
Early indications point to an exciting championship battle over the next several months, following the interest of a large number of participants, all of whom are eager to get out onto the track and begin racing.

The season opener is set to take place this Friday, October 2, at Bahrain International Circuit in Sakhir.
Circuit Racing Club (CRC) president Mazen Al Hilli said that the 10 drivers who have confirmed their participation in the first race meeting include defending champion Mustafa Al Khan, last year’s vice-champion Shaikh Jaber bin Ali Al Khalifa, brothers Shaikh Hamad bin Isa and Shaikh Salman bin Isa Al Khalifa, Mohammed Saleh, British debutant Peter Turney, veteran Abdul Rahman Ghuloom, Steven Glock, and siblings Ahmed and Hameed Kasber.

Al Khan is expected to begin his title defence with last year’s car, as his new challenger is still not ready to race. Newcomer Turney is currently undergoing training in preparaion for the championship, under the supervision of the CRC and the Bahrain Motor Federation (BMF).

The examination on all the cars this morning is being conducted to ensure that they fully comply with all the safety measures as well as the laws and regulations put in place by the BMF.

The CRC and BMF have gone through the qualifications of all the drivers and approved their participation in the Challenge. Each has a competition licence, which has been granted by the BMF, under the umbrella of the International Automobile Federation (FIA).

The upcoming season will have a several changes, including those in the technical regulations. The CRC met with the drivers after last season and discussed ways to improve the championship to make it more competitive for all. Both parties were able to express their views, and it now promises to be the most exciting title fight yet.

Commenting on the upcoming campaign, Al Hilli said that there will be many surprises expected in the coming months. Al Khan’s new car has been bought from Malaysia and it will certainly play a huge role in his quest to repeat as champion.

Shaikh Jaber’s car has also undergone many developments, while former titlist, Shaikh Salman bin Isa, will be competing from the first round itself after missing several races to start last season. Al Hilli added that he also sees the Challenge’s new faces making a mark in their first year.

The CRC chief thanked official sponsors Batelco for their unlimited support to the series from its very first year until this season. “Batelco is the major reason for the success of this championship. The prizes they offer play a huge role in attracting the competitors and race against each other to the best of their abilities,” he said.

Al Hilli also thanked Bahrain International Circuit, the BMF, the media and his colleagues at CRC for their efforts in helping organise and promote the Challenge in the Kingdom.

For his part, BMF general manager Abdul Aziz Al Thawadi extended the BMF’s appreciation to the CRC for putting together yet another exciting season following the grand success of last year.
Al Thawadi had discussed the championship during a meeting with the BMF Sports Committee, chaired by BMF president Shaikh Abdulla bin Isa Al Khalifa, held earlier this month.

The new season will consist of eight rounds. Following the season opener this Friday, the second meeting is scheduled for November 6. Round three will be held on December 11, round four on January 11 next year, followed by round five on February 12.

The sixth will take place on March 5, the seventh on April 2, followed by the Challenge’s grand finale on May 7.

Last year, Al Khan won the title ahead of Shaikh Jaber bin Ali. Saleh was third.