Wednesday, February 20, 2019

CRC Calendar 2018/2019

CRC Testing Friday, October 5, 2018
CRC Round 1 Friday, October 12, 2018
CRC Round 2 Friday, November 2, 2018
CRC Round 3

Round 3:  Friday, December 7, 2018

CRC Round 4

Round 4:  Friday, January 11, 2019

CRC Round 5

Round 5:  Friday, February 1, 2019

CRC Round 6

Round 6:  Friday, March 8, 2019

CRC Round 7

Round 7:  Friday, April 26, 2019

CRC Spare  Friday, May 3, 2019

Strict Standards: Declaration of JCacheControllerView::get() should be compatible with JCacheController::get($id, $group = NULL) in /home/content/27/6953627/html/libraries/loader.php on line 354


User Rating:  / 0
Bahrain International Circuit, ‘The Home of Motorsport in the Middle East’, staged the fifth and penultimate round of the 2010/2011 BIC 2000cc Challenge over the weekend, as Shaikh Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa captured yet another double victory to inch closer towards the season’s title. The event was organised by the Circuit Racing Club, which falls under the umbrella of the Bahrain Motor Federation, and was held under the auspices of Bahrain International Circuit.
Shaikh Hamad, driving a Honda Civic in Class A, started the day by clinching pole position for race one. That helped him claim an impressive pole-to-flag victory in the 16-lap event with a winning time of 22mins 16.984secs. He also set the race’s fastest lap of 1min 20.635secs.

Raed Himmo, driving a Honda CRX, finished second 12.901secs behind, and Rashid Al Jowder in a Honda Civic was third 14.150secs off Shaikh Hamad’s pace. Both drivers are competitors in Class B.

Tim Birkin in a Honda Integra came fourth, 27.200secs from first place, while Hussain Karimi in a Honda CRX was fifth 46.559secs adrift.

Ahmed Kuzbar in a Ford Focus 2.0 was sixth, 1min 11.579secs back, while Hisham Al Othman, the third and last competitor in Class B, was seventh and last after completing the race 1min 17.420secs behind Shaikh Hamad.

Shaikh Hamad then followed up his fine victory with another flawless run to the checkered flag in race two.

Run over 15 laps, Shaikh Hamad completed the event in 22mins 35.366secs. He once again was the quickest out on track, setting the race’s best lap at 1min 24.602secs.

Kuzbar put up a strong challenge in securing the runner-up position. He was 3.056secs behind. Himmo completed the podium finishers in third place, 1min 17.239secs back.

Al Othman finished fourth, and he was the last entrant on the final classification.

Karimi and Al Jowder were not classified, while Birkin did not start.

With the results, Shaikh Hamad extended his dominant winning run to eight victories in a row, including his fourth double of the season, dating back to the championship’s second round. He is now the clear-cut favourite to claim the drivers’ title, as there is just one round remaining in the championship.

Mazen Al Hilli, President of the Circuit Racing Club, and Sherif Al Mahdy, Sporting Championship Manager at Bahrain International Circuit, presented the awards to the winners.