Wednesday, February 20, 2019

CRC Calendar 2018/2019

CRC Testing Friday, October 5, 2018
CRC Round 1 Friday, October 12, 2018
CRC Round 2 Friday, November 2, 2018
CRC Round 3

Round 3:  Friday, December 7, 2018

CRC Round 4

Round 4:  Friday, January 11, 2019

CRC Round 5

Round 5:  Friday, February 1, 2019

CRC Round 6

Round 6:  Friday, March 8, 2019

CRC Round 7

Round 7:  Friday, April 26, 2019

CRC Spare  Friday, May 3, 2019

Strict Standards: Declaration of JCacheControllerView::get() should be compatible with JCacheController::get($id, $group = NULL) in /home/content/27/6953627/html/libraries/loader.php on line 354

BIC 2000cc 2011/12 - Round 1: Shaikh Hamad & Kellog Win a Race Each

User Rating:  / 0


BIC 2000cc Challenge Round 1 Podium

Reigning champion Shaikh Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa won the opening round’s second race following a dominant pole-to-flag victory for Stephen Kellogg in race one.

Driving a white Honda Civic, Shaikh Hamad captured the race two win in dramatic fashion as he held off a persistent challenge from Kellogg until the very last moments of the race. He took the checkered flag in a time of 20mins 53.193secs to score his first race win of the season and begin his title-defence in solid fashion. Abdulrahman Ghuloom in a black Honda Civic finished second 0.312secs behind Shaikh Hamad, while Tim Birkin was third 16.496secs from first place. Kellogg was forced to stop his race with just a lap to go after experiencing problems with his red/grey Honda Civic.

Earlier in the day, however, it was Kellogg who powered to victory and Shaikh Hamad who was unfortunate not to make it onto the final classification. Starting from pole, Kellogg stormed to the win in 20mins 42.272secs, getting away early from the rest of the pack and building a 10.996secs gap from Ghuloom, who was twice a runner-up on the day. Birkin was in third for his first of two quick podiums, finishing 29.109secs off Kellogg’s pace. Shaikh Hamad registered only two laps of action before retiring due to a car problem.

During the day’s practice session, Shaikh Hamad had no trouble in clocking the fastest lap time of 1min 22.912secs. But Kellogg came back to steal pole position for race one after winning qualifying in 1min 21.099secs.

While Shaikh Hamad and Kellogg each won a race, it was Ghuloom who likely emerged from the first round most delighted, as he immediately captured first place on the championship 40 points. Birkin followed with 34 points, while Shaikh Hamad and Kellogg each earned 25 points for their victories.


Action from CRC National Sprint Round 1


Action in the National Sprint Championship also took place as part of Friday’s festival, supporting the headlining BIC 2,000cc Challenge and Bahrain Drag Racing Championship.

Heat one for cars saw John Sarkis in first in Class A1, Ali Bushehri win Class C2, Zain Ashkanani in Class B2, Vicken Tchiroyan in Class B1 and Robert Ruse in Class A2. Heat two saw a repeat of the same drivers winning each of their categories.

For bikes, Ali Khalaf won Class 1000 and Khalifa Khalil Class 600 in heat one, before repeating the same in heat two.