Sunday, September 22, 2019

CRC Calendar 2019/2020


Event Date  Time
CRC Testing Friday, September 27, 2019 Night
CRC Round 1 Friday, October 4, 2019 Night
CRC Round 2 Friday, November 1, 2019 Day
CRC Round 3 Friday, December 20, 2019 Day
CRC Round 4 Friday, January 24, 2020 Day
CRC Round 5 Friday, February 21, 2020 Day
CRC Round 6 Friday, March 6, 2020 Night
CRC Round 7 Friday, March 20, 2020 Night
CRC Spare Friday, April 17, 2020 Night


Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

It wasn’t the most successful of races for the current leader Shaikh Salman and top rival, Mustafa Al Khan, this weekend as the sixth round of the Batelco 2000CC Challenge hit the Bahrain International Circuit.

Having seen the Batelco 2000CC’s Schumi, Shaikh Salman, win the first race, after an intense chase by Mustafa Al Khan, a mistake by the runner up at turn 1 in the fourth lap gave the current lead a chance to widen the gap. Whilst another chase was taking place on the track by Ali Al-Kobaisi and Mohammed Saleh, the latter managed to pick up third position. An obvious deceleration by Mustafa Al Khan towards the finish line clearly indicated that he had thrown the towel in for the first race, but had picked up the fastest lap time in return of 1:21.720 minutes.

 At the end of the first race, Shaikh Salman bin Ibrahim Al Khalifa stood in first, whilst Mustafa Al Khan came in second. Mohammed Saleh followed in third, Ali Al-Kobaisi in fourth and Michael Spahn in fifth. In sixth was Rashid Al-Jowder, whilst seventh was picked up by Faisal Raffii, leaving Osama Al-Buflasa in eighth position and Carina Ghuloom back in ninth.

Second race was on, and another chase hit the track between the two leads. After witnessing a bad move on Shaikh Salman’s part, Al Khan was quick to move in and steal the lead, which put him in first place, with a 17 second gap. Again, Al Khan picked up the fastest lap time of 1:21.296 minutes in a fantastic finish.

The final standings at the end of the second race saw a turn of events. Mustafa Al Khan came in first, whilst Shaikh Salman settled for his second defeat taking second place. In third was Mohammed Saleh, Michael Spahn in fourth, Ali Al-Kobaisi in fifth and Faisal Raffii in sixth. In seventh saw Carina Ghuloom make a leap forward, whilst Rashid Al-Jowder and Osama Al-Buflasa had to sit this race out following technical failures, and Isa Al-Kooheji was not seen participating.

Shaikh Salman bin Isa Al Khalifa, Chief Operating Officer at BIC, and CRC Club President, Mazen Al-Hilli, crowned the winners of the round and congratulated them on a superb performance. The next round will be seen on the circuit on the 9th of May.